Posts tagged international sugar organisation


Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama chaired the Special Session of the International Sugar Organisation in London yesterday (October 1, 2013).

The main objective of the two-day meeting is to elect the new executive director of the International Sugar Organisation because the term of the current director Dr. Peter Baron will finish at the end of the year after serving in the position for over 20 years.

In his address to the council, the Prime Minister thanked delegates who participated at the 43rd Session of the International Sugar Council that was held in Fiji in June this year.

Several ISO delegates expressed their appreciation on the warm hospitality and the successful outcome of the Council session in Fiji.

The Prime Minister welcomed the Government of Sri Lanka who had finalised the membership of the 1992 International Sugar Agreement. This brings the ISO membership to an all time record of 87 countries.

The members agreed to reach a decision on the appointment of the new executive director by consensus and by secret vote only if necessary but the central aim remains to achieve consensus in the selection of the candidate.

The two candidates running for the position, Mr. Jose Orive from Guatemala and Mr. Gerarado Patacconi of Italy, who is being sponsored by the European Union, addressed the Council on their candidature and vision to the Council.

The final decision will be taken by the Council by today (October 2, 2013).